Fireborn by Aisling Fowler

Hi everyone,

How are you?

Today I am going to be doing my review of fireborn. Thank you so much to Dave, for allowing me to take part in this tour and to Harper Collins and Aisling for my copy of the book!

Synopsis:

Lyra. Lucy. Percy. Once in a generation, a hero emerges whose story enthralls readers worldwide. 

Fireborn is an epic quest, perfect for fans of the His Dark Materials and The School for Good and Evil series, that will spin readers into a magical world like no other–and introduce them to an unforgettable new heroine named Twelve.

Ember is full of monsters.

Twelve gave up her name and identity to train in the art of hunting them–so she says. The truth is much more deadly: she trains to take revenge on those who took her family from her.

But when Twelve’s new home is attacked, she’ll find herself on an unexpected journey, where her hidden past is inescapably intertwined with her destiny–and the very fate of her world.

My thoughts:

First of all, can we just appreciate how beautiful this proof is😍. Ok, we can move on now.

So, when I first saw the synopsis for this book I was immediately intrigued. Fantasy middle grade epic adventure with magic, what could be better than that right? And I’m pleased to say, I was definitely not disappointed!

There are quite a few characters in this book and I felt attached to each of them. The banter between the main character and the other characters in this book was so well done. I loved seeing the friendships develop. However, there were definitely some moments that had me sitting on the edge of my seat and staring into space after some sad scenes. You know a book is good when it gives you all the feelings.

Twelve (our main character) was very well developed. I loved seeing her grow throughout the book and even though she did irritate me slightly at the beginning, she definitely grew on me.

The world within this book is really vivid and well written. I loved how unique it was. I couldn’t wait to find out more. Usually, I am a very character driven reader but this world had me hooked. I wish there was a little bit more on the history and other places that they travelled too, but I loved it.

I really enjoyed fireborn. The characters and world building definitely capture your attention and don’t let go until you get to the very last page. I recommend this book too… well, everyone, of all ages. I want to know what happens next and this book hasn’t even release yet! I really hope there is a book two!

Don’t forget to pick up a copy for preorder or keep a look out for its release on 30th September!

Author bio:

Aisling was born in 1985 and wishes that she had grown up in a magical, mountainous kingdom, but was actually raised in Surrey on a diet of books and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Her early ‘adventure’ stories involved surprisingly little action and her first novel (3 pages long) was politely declined by publishers at age 11. After earning a BSc in Biology and working as a support worker and then a nurse, the idea for her debut novel, Fireborn, came to her as she moved back and forth between London and the US. Now based in Hackney, when she is not reading or writing, Aisling loves cooking and plotting adventures (for herself as well as her fictional characters). Fireborn will be published by HarperCollins in 2021.

Media links;

Twitter

Goodreads

Purchase links:

Blackwell’s

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Thank you so much for reading!