The palace job by Patrick Weeks- Book Review!

Hi everyone,

How are you?

Today I am going to be doing a review of the palace job by Patrick Weeks. I am so excited for this review, I loved this book! I’m just going to dive straight into it!🥳

Synopsis:

The most powerful man in the republic framed her, threw her in prison, and stole a priceless elven manuscript from her family.

With the help of a crack team that includes an illusionist, a unicorn, a death priestess, a talking warhammer, and a lad with a prophetic birthmark, Loch must find a way into the floating fortress of Heaven’s Spire–and get past the magic-hunting golems and infernal sorcerers standing between her and the vault that holds her family’s treasure.

It’d be tricky enough without the military coup and unfolding of an ancient evil prophecy–but now the determined and honourable Justicar Pyvic has been assigned to take her in.

But hey, every plan has a few hitches.

My thoughts/review:

When I saw that this was to the gentleman bastards series I knew I had to pick it up even though I haven’t actually read the gentleman bastards series yet. But, from what I have heard people say about the gentleman bastards series, I knew it had a lot of things that I love and enjoy when I’m reading and that’s exactly what I got. I mean is it to much to ask for when I read a book for there to be a heist, excellent characters/ a groups of misfits, unique magic, politics, a talking hammer, unicorns, ogres and humour? No, I don’t think that is to much to ask hehe.

What was my favourite thing about this book… well I’ll tell you… EVERYTHING!!!! But, I guess I need to explain why I loved it a bit better than that don’t I so;

Let’s start with the characters.

Loch, our main character is really interesting, she doesn’t take no sh** from anyone and I really liked her. She always manages to outthink her enemies and find a new sword from somewhere… how? Don’t ask me how, I have no idea but, there is always a sword. Kail is also an interesting character paired with a whole list of mom jokes that he whips out at the most convenient (sometimes inconvenient) moments. In short, he is hilarious! Pyvic was a really interesting character to read about. We see him struggle with his feelings for a certain main character and try to uncover the truth. The banter between them was soo good! In short I loved him! In short I loved all the characters including Hessler, Icy, Tern, Disedora and the talking unicorn… yes, you heard me correctly, a talking unicorn.

But, the best thing about these characters was there interactions with each other. The interactions between these characters, for me, made the book. They are all funny in there own way but, there interactions with each other and with their enemies had me laughing out loud in some places.

Another thing I loved about this book would have to be the romance/s. I was really surprised to find that there was romance in this book, I mean I know, it’s ya fantasy book so it’s bound to have romance but, when I read a lot of the reviews I didn’t see it mentioned so, that was a great surprise for me!

As for the plot, I would say that it is definitely not at the forefront of the story so, if you are a plot driven reader this may not be the book for you as it is very character driven. The action/ plot does pick up towards the end of the book though! However, for someone like me who is a lover of character driven stories, the sometimes slow plot didn’t bother me too much, I did on occasion put the book down on these slow parts but, once I picked it back up, I could not put this book down!

In short, I LOVED this book, I loved the characters and the world. I can’t wait to start book 2 and see where this story is going to go, I’m slightly nervous, there are going to be so many twists😬.

4.5 stars 🌟

Have you read this book? What did you think? Let me know in the comments below and let’s chat!

Thank you so much for reading!